Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.
0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 39 Second
Jason Frederick

Frederick to face Nygard in November General Elections

Voters across the reservation ventured out into the rain to cast their ballots in the highly contested Sheriff race.

Current Sheriff and candidate Jason Frederick received 857 votes, followed by new candidate Brent Nygard getting 411 votes.

In addition to Frederick, four other candidates were running against him. These include Brent Nygard, David Gonzales, William Black Dog, and Coretta Greybear.

When the polls were closed and the votes were counted, a total of 1,330 ballots were cast this year. Of that, Frederick received 857; followed by Nygard with 411 votes; Gonzales with 152 votes; Black Dog received 72 votes; and Greybear received 58 votes.

Frederick has been Roosevelt County Sheriff/Coroner for the past seven years.

As for the District Three Commissioner race, the winner is Robert D. Toavs.

The extra tax on non-medical marijuana sales also passed with 1,161 votes for and 363 votes against, according to information from Roosevelt County.

A Roosevelt County Medical Marijuana Local Option Excise Tax was approved by voters with 941 for and 579 opposed.

Also, a public safety levy for the City of Wolf Point passed 246 for and 193 against.


State wide races

Matt Rosendale, who currently serves as Montana’s sole member of the U.S. House of Representatives, won Tuesday’s GOP primary election for the state’s newly-created second seat. (Full story here.)

Penny Ronning, a former Billings city councilwoman, has won the Democratic nomination for the U.S. House District 2. The Associated Press called the race around 10:20 p.m. Tuesday night with eight percent of precincts reporting statewide.

Both CNN and NBC National News called the race earlier in the evening.

State Representative for District 31 is Frank Smith of Poplar. He and former Tribal Executive Board member Kaci Wallette were in the race for this seat. Smith got 296 and Wallette received 217 votes.

0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %
0 0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star